Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Carpet cleaning

4 posters

Go down

Carpet cleaning Empty Carpet cleaning

Post by Chas Uno Sat May 25, 2013 11:59 pm

First post in this section!

I'm about to remove the carpet (a lovely shade of 80's beige!) from my project 70SX. While it is out, it's a good opportunity to give it a proper clean. Has any one had their carpet cleaned, and if so, what is a recommended way of getting it done? I'm thinking that I could either take it to a professional cleaning company and get them to do it, or hire an industrial 'WetVac' type vacuum cleaner. Or even just get some carpet shampoo and DIY it out in the back garden. I've never done this before, so not sure what is a good/ efficient/ cost effective way of getting it done.

Recommendations from anyone please?

Chas Uno
Chas Uno
4th gear
4th gear

Back to top Go down

Carpet cleaning Empty Re: Carpet cleaning

Post by charliemk1 Sun May 26, 2013 12:44 am

Pressure washer scrubbing brush and hang them out to dry.

Carpet cleaning Picture111_zpsbd0d0e4d
charliemk1
charliemk1
Uno Veteran
Uno Veteran

Back to top Go down

Post by markp38 Sun May 26, 2013 12:45 am

ive used shampoo from one of those rug cleaners you can hire, a scrubbing brush and lots of elbow grease, Ive also used a power wash turned down before as well and that was very effective to finish off and clean all the soap out.
markp38
markp38
3rd gear
3rd gear

Back to top Go down

Post by Chas Uno Sun May 26, 2013 11:50 am

Thanks for the heads up guys!

I've never cleaned a carpet before, and after 24 years in my 70SX mine is a little grubby though in good shape otherwise (virtually no wear nor damage.) I've seen some people's carpets that have obviously been cleaned and some look virtually brand new. I was assuming they were done professionally they looked so good.